1962 T-bird single to dual master cylinder

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1961-63 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: ABQTBird

lj37

1962 T-bird single to dual master cylinder

Post by lj37 »

I'm new to this web site.

My 1962 T-bird had a brake melt down. The single stage master cylinder stuck on and all the drum brakes locked up.

Now that I have to do a complete brake job I want to change the single stage master to a dual system.

The car has the stock drum brakes with power booster. What Ford dual master cylinder should I use? I'm thinking a '67 Gaxlie with drum and power booster should work. Looking at other posts it looks like someone used a '69 Mustang.

Thanks for any help. I'm not interested is converting to disc

Lyle
bubbastbird

master cyl. swap

Post by bubbastbird »

Hey,
There is alot of info on this here if you look under the recent post for 61-63 thunderbirds and 61-63 modified thunderbirds. Unless you are going for complete originality the single master was all that was avalailable. Since the original brake boosters are so expensive, when you add in that you'll have to return your core w/shipping it's well over $200.00 bucks just for the booster. I opted for a complete dual master & booster swap from E-bay. It was very easy swap and fit perfectly. The only thing extra I had to buy was a pair of adapters to mate my brake lines to the new master And a 12" steel brake line. Which is needed with the original "Brass T Fitting" that is on your master cylinder So the brake light switch can be retained. It's all assembled with the linkages and mounting hardware. It took about an hour to do and looks great. Including shipping and the parts I got from my local parts store totaled was less than $300.00. I Was very satisfied and if you would like some pics, just shoot me your e-mail address. Steve
TsNStangs

Post by TsNStangs »

^ Ditto - and welcome aboard! :cool:
~ Daniel
"I'm your huckleberry..."
VTCI #11333