Anyone purchase points lately?

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1955-57 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: Joe Johnston

RossL

Anyone purchase points lately?

Post by RossL »

I bought points at NAPA and Carquest, the points are a mirror image of what’s in my car (1955 292)

The rubbing blocks were facing the wrong way

NAPA did have another set that looks correct. I ordered a couple of sets from Rock Auto

Were there differences in distributors supplied with the cars?
ward 57

Re: Anyone purchase points lately?

Post by ward 57 »

NAPA has a great reputation for quality parts for older cars. What do you mean the rubbing blocks were facing the wrong way? A comparison picture would be great.
It's possible the distributor is not a true '55 for a 292 but for a 312 and had been swapped for some reason. There are physical differences on the outside and internally. (I'm no expert on distributors) but there should be an ID on the casing and there are data bases as to what the original application was. I recently found out I have a car generator and not a specifically designed T-Bird generator. It only had 85K on the odometer when I bought it 45+ yrs ago but somebody had already swapped it.
VTCI # 13223
ICON 1956

Post by ICON 1956 »

Pictures would be great to show the forum. what you are comparing....
1956 Thunderbird Sage Green
1953 Ford Custom Liner Hot Rod With Flat 8 Motor with Henderson three 2 barrel Carbs
VTCI Member # 12309
paul2748

Post by paul2748 »

New Ignition items these days are a crap shoot as far as quality goes, especially Points and condensers. This is the reason I went to a Pertronix, too many problems with condensers.

For points, I would suggest ebay for Ford made items or at least new old replacement parts.

55 and 56 Fords used a different style of points then 57 and later. The base on 55/56 was straight and the 57 and later base was curved. This was because the distributors were different.