Ignition bezel won't stay on

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1961-63 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: ABQTBird

Oathkeeper13

Ignition bezel won't stay on

Post by Oathkeeper13 »

Okay so, I have been working on my 63 Thunderbird for five years (I'm 25 and I'm still learning how to fix cars). and recently I had got her working after 10+ years. Anyways I thought my ignition switch's lock cylinder had worn down to badly because I couldn't turn her over, it wouldn't budge. I had no idea how to take the ignition switch apart let alone where it came off at (I didn't know what the tiny hole next to the keyhole was for). My dad yanked me out of the car and pried the bezel and retainer nut off the dash breaking both pieces, I managed to fix the retainer nut the best I could but the bezel and the switch won't stay in place. I lost my shop manuals and I don't know anyone who can help me. I've done everything I could with what little I have. I'm almost done restoring her but I'm not sure how to fix this issue myself. If someone can help me I am forever grateful to you. I know I. Can't replace the bezel or retainer nut because they don't make them anymore so I'm desperate to fix this. Please help!
Cliff Rankin

Re: Ignition bezel won't stay on

Post by Cliff Rankin »

I suggest using a vendor that supports this site.
Personally I would call Doug at Wilson’s and see if he has one with a little advice. Doug is awesome and always helped me over the years with advise and parts.
Cliff
Cliff Rankin
63 convertible
64 convertible
Oathkeeper13

Post by Oathkeeper13 »

Cliff Rankin wrote: Sun Oct 22, 2023 4:11 pm I suggest using a vendor that supports this site.
Personally I would call Doug at Wilson’s and see if he has one with a little advice. Doug is awesome and always helped me over the years with advise and parts.
Cliff

Thank you so much! I found one and I will have to give him a call when I can.
Oathkeeper13

Post by Oathkeeper13 »