suitable gas & oil, etc.?

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1964-66 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: redstangbob

TbirdIntender

suitable gas & oil, etc.?

Post by TbirdIntender »

Hello folks, newbie here still finding my way around the board and also shopping for a car. It's likely it's going to be a '66, and I'm starting to think about fluids.

What keeps the old 390s and 428s happy? Do you need to put lead substitute in the gas? Is one of those old-car oil formulations advisable? Any other fluid tips and tricks I ought to know?

Many thanks, everybody!
1966 Town Hardtop in sapphire blue
VTCI #13000
georgemii

Re: suitable gas & oil, etc.?

Post by georgemii »

FWIW - I use 5w30 oil with zinc additive.

Unleaded fuel seems OK in my 390 showing 135k miles.

(Disclaimer) Your results may vary.
sseebart

Post by sseebart »

TbirdIntender wrote: Wed Jul 15, 2020 12:45 am What keeps the old 390s and 428s happy? Do you need to put lead substitute in the gas? Is one of those old-car oil formulations advisable? Any other fluid tips and tricks I ought to know?
Some of this will be specific to the motor in your car--if the motor was recently rebuilt, for example, there would be no need for a high-mileage motor oil.

In my experience, most older cars have been retrofitted to take unleaded gas, either during a rebuild or while getting a valve job done. It's possible, I suppose, to still find a low-mileage example with a completely unmolested engine (and whose owner has been using lead additives for the last few decades). If you can't get a documented history on the engine, a lead substitute can't hurt, I suppose.

I don't know where you live, but if you have access to pure gas (no ethanol), your car will thank you for it.

~Steve
64ZCODE

Post by 64ZCODE »