55 Front suspension refresh

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1955-57 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: Joe Johnston

Max888

55 Front suspension refresh

Post by Max888 »

While my motor is out being rebuilt I'm looking at re-doing the front suspension.

As some of you know I'm no mechanical genius but not afraid to try.

The front suspension on my 55 definitely needs updating. I've seen front suspension kits for sale, found a few topics on here and watched alot of you tube.

I know a machinist and some smart guys I can go to but I plan on doing as much as I can myself.

Does anyone have advice or lessons learned to help me set up a strategy before before I cross the LD ?

Im thinking my motor will be in shop a month or so and I'd like to set her on some nice suspension when she comes home
Texas

1955 t bird
1964 chevy C10
Past
1928 chevy coup
paul2748

Re: 55 Front suspension refresh

Post by paul2748 »

The rubber parts are the most susceptible to wear so take a good look at those. The ball joints are very heavy duty and if given at least minimal care may be ok, but should be checked out. I have two cars with the identical front end (a 54 Victoria and a 56 Bird) which I redid the front end and ball joints were good in both cars.

While better done with the engine in the car for weight, check the tie rod ends for play. Have some one move the steering wheel back and forth while some one looks for any play in them. Same goes for the steering arm and idler arm.

Lots a tension in those springs so be extra careful when disassembling and reassembling the front end

And if you can find them, get all USA made parts.
1956 Fiesta Red 312
1954 Ford Victoria 312
1948 Ford Convertible Street Rod 302
55blacktie

Post by 55blacktie »