Gauges ????

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1961-63 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: Wklink

krave
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: SoCal

Gauges ????

Post by krave » Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:40 pm

Its been awhile since anyone has posted a gauge thread....Since the others seem to be dead. I'm looking for pics,ideas,about what others have done with their gauges I like the look of the original bezels but would like gauges that actually work accurately. I was looking at auto-meter but i don't know what size the originals are .I'm thinking (hoping) maybe the 5 inch gauges that auto-meter have may work. I emailed auto-meter but they really couldn't be much help...I don't mind a little modification. Please help...

Thanks Gary

novanutcase
Posts: 1819
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:58 am

Re: Gauges ????

Post by novanutcase » Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:27 pm

I converted my clock to a tach.

John
Professional Pic Whore

Image

bbogue
Posts: 608
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 3:04 am

Re: Gauges ????

Post by bbogue » Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:49 am

I used Autometer gauges and added trim rings from a marine supplier. I don’t/won’t have A/C so the A/C vent location seemed perfect for me. Very viewable while driving. The push/pull switch is for my electric cooling fan. I considered modifying the clock for a tach but decided to convert the clock to quartz instead...more useful for me. Good luck.

Bill
Attachments
0F928468-0218-492A-B05F-08703A70313F.jpeg
Last edited by bbogue on Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
VTCI# 12145
1961 Thunderbird - Heritage Burgundy Metallic
Music...
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-qNF ... zQ5c09UdEE

If there are no dogs in heaven, send me where they went. - Will Rogers

krave
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Gauges ????

Post by krave » Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:32 pm

I got a set from speed hut gauges 4.5 inch..they fit the orig bezels perfect..had a wiring issue but that's cause over the years I had to many hands fooling with the wiring..still need to get the fuel sending unit but other then that very happy with them

62bird
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:22 pm

Re: Gauges ????

Post by 62bird » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:24 pm

Do you have any pictures of the speedhut gauges
Installed? I think that’s the route I want to go...

krave
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Gauges ????

Post by krave » Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:56 pm

Sure.. the cool thing i thought was you can kinda custom design them..I went with pretty similar to orig. but the 4.5 inch fit really well..

User avatar
saenzm
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:38 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Gauges ????

Post by saenzm » Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:33 pm

I went with cheap small gauges, Equus 6100. Didn't like the look of a radio there anyway (original or aftermarket). I play music via Bluetooth dongle connected to an amplifier. My phone becomes the head unit.

It was originally a temporary location while i go through all the mechanical stuff, but it's grown on me and i'll keep it this way.
Attachments
IMG_20180731_151722_1_1 (4).jpg
saenz
1962 Hardtop ...perpetual WIP

krave
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Gauges ????

Post by krave » Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:28 pm

Here's what I did..
20180710_144354.jpg
Not the best pic...but you get the idea

62bird
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:22 pm

Re: Gauges ????

Post by 62bird » Wed Jan 30, 2019 6:29 pm

Went with custom speedhut gauges- installed in the old bezel by using longer screws in the stock holes. Fit great, and they look nice. Will be awhile before I can test them out. Will post pics of them installed and woking when I get that far.
Attachments
IMG_8310.JPG

krave
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Gauges ????

Post by krave » Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:10 pm

looks good...I'm curious about the fuel sending unit...Let me know what size you get or got..And when you get it in how it works

62bird
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:22 pm

Re: Gauges ????

Post by 62bird » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:08 am

I have a new stock unit in a new tank right now. Pretty sure I’m going Efi though,so plan is to get a bigger sending unit and add a in tank pump and a return. Does your fuel gauge not work?

62bird
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:22 pm

Re: Gauges ????

Post by 62bird » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:08 pm

krave wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:10 pm
looks good...I'm curious about the fuel sending unit...Let me know what size you get or got..And when you get it in how it works
Where did you put the gps antenna for your speedometer? Was planning on putting mine under the cowl but was afraid it wouldn’t pick up, how good does it work? Read it can take a few minutes to acquire signal...

krave
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Gauges ????

Post by krave » Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:40 pm

I did not get the gps speedo...I wanted to... it would've been easier..I went with electrical..I was worried about the same thing "losing signal" and I wanted to get in and go.lol..waiting to acquire signal didn't appeal to me...even if its only seconds..I'm silly like that..lol..post a pic of gps antenna i will be more then happy to throw you my suggestion..or at least what i would've done..lol

krave
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Gauges ????

Post by krave » Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:06 pm

62bird...Can you tell me the fuel sending unit you got. Mine was 7.5 inch i think self calibrating ..lol...yeah right...I need to call cause it doesnt quite get to all the way full..

62bird
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:22 pm

Re: Gauges ????

Post by 62bird » Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:39 am

krave wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:06 pm
62bird...Can you tell me the fuel sending unit you got. Mine was 7.5 inch i think self calibrating ..lol...yeah right...I need to call cause it doesnt quite get to all the way full..
Currently I have a spectra stock replacement unit in a spectra replacemment tank. Tank isn’t in the car yet, it has a 10-80 Ohm Rheostat Range. The fuel gauge is the only one I haven’t hooked up yet, probably a few weeks away from starting the car and breaking the engine in.( in the final stage of a complete restoration) I’ll be sure to let you know how well it works.

Post Reply