Blueish White smoke on startup.

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1961-63 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: ABQTBird

UncleOtis63

Blueish White smoke on startup.

Post by UncleOtis63 »

Hello all. As some may have read my previous post, it is easy to discern that I am a novice to the classic car biz. That disclaimed, I have another potentially silly question. Who knows? Maybe others may need the answers too.

So I just bought this cosmetically immaculate 63 t-bird. I'm thrilled to own and drive it but not savvy on the signs it gives me that it may need maintenance. My Explorers tell me to "Check Engine" (for what that is worth LOL). When I start it, it blows a variable puff of white smoke out of the tail pipe. Some times it is barely noticeable, sometimes there are no mosquitoes in my neighborhood for days following ignition. I understand that it is the rings that are worn and the engine will need to be rebuilt. I am saving the money for this repair but want to save a couple thousand more so I can get the engine compartment detailed and repainted while the engine is taking it's sabbatical. If I keep the oil topped off regularly, would it be a problem to drive it with the rings in disrepair? I hate to park it until I can get it fixed. That may be until next spring. But I also hate to ruin the engine that rolled out of the factory with the car 40 yrs ago. Will the bad rings ruin my cylinder walls even though I'm keeping the oil level full?

Thanks in advance.
Alan H. Tast

Bad Rings?

Post by Alan H. Tast »