Please help - Rookie Restoration

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1964-66 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: redstangbob

HayterBird

Please help - Rookie Restoration

Post by HayterBird »

Good evening. I am just starting a restoration of my great-uncles 1964 thunderbird. It has 44k miles on it and he bought it new in 1964. He parked it in probably the 1980s where it sits today. I have no clue what is wrong with it - or if anything at all is wrong with it. I’m a total rookie and as a 24 year old I don’t know the first thing about restoration, as the oldest vehicle I’ve worked on is my 2005 GMC Canyon.

I need help. To the point that I can’t even get the hood open. If anybody on here can walk me through how to get the hood open, what to look for as far as potential repair costs/etc I would GREATLY appreciate it. I’m trying to surprise my great-uncle by being able to drive it to church one day, so I’m hoping to atleast get it running and driving a few miles won’t be too expensive, but I know that entirely depends on engine seizure, etc.

If anyone here can help, or knows who can, I’d gladly send my phone number somehow to you for a phone call to walk through the basics.
jtschug

Re: Please help - Rookie Restoration

Post by jtschug »

First, there is the reason it was parked. It might have been something simple like a dead battery, or something really bad like a blown engine. Since this is your great uncle's car, he is an excellent source of information on this that a lot of people trying to resurrect a car from decades of storage do not have.

Second, there is a long list of things that 'rot' over time, and some things rot worse when the car is never run.

The battery -- if there is one will be dead
The tires, if they aren't flat are useless
The coolant hoses are suspect
The belts are rotten
The coolant is full of rust
The brake fluid is full of water
The gasoline is varnish
The points are rusty