Re: currently rebuilding a '67 clock

This area is for posting questions/information concerning 1967-71 year Thunderbirds NO FOR SALE POSTINGS
gbird66

Post by gbird66 »

Just wanted to drop in and say that I've currently got a 1967 Thunderbird clock on my bench undergoing repair/restoration. As you know, the '67 was a one-year-only design. In addition to dis-assembly, cleaning and lubricating (with proper Swiss-made clock oil - no WD-40 here), the solenoid charge mechanism will have a diode added to reduce the arcing between the contacts during reset to further the life of the contacts.

I've been restoring T-Bird clocks off and on since 1998 and it's very rare to find a '67 where the charge solenoid hasn't overheated and melted, effectively making it un-repairable.

I'll post pics when done.

Greg
stove

Post by stove »

AWESOME!
1963 HT, Corinthian White / Pearl Beige
1966 Convertible, Sauterne Gold / Parchment leather/Ivy Gold (428 A/C)
1967 Tudor Landau, Raven Black / Black (428)
1970 Five Window Landau Brougham, Ginger Met. Poly / Ginger Hopsack
gbird66

Post by gbird66 »

Pulled apart the mechanism this weekend to clean and lubricate it, with the proper Swiss-made clock oil. A little bit goes a long way; I've had this bottle since 1998.

I had to file down the reset solenoid contacts and then build them back up with solder as they had become quite pitted from years of arcing when the contacts opened. To counter the spark produced when the contacts open and the magnetic field collapses, thus producing a spark, I added a small signal diode across the solenoid coil windings. While it will not completely eliminate any arcing, it will greatly curtail it, thus adding to the life and health of the mechanism.

Now it's on the bench for "burn in" to check continued good operation and to make time adjustments. This could take a few days but once these mechanisms get "dialed in", they amazingly keep pretty accurate time.