Rehab/repair of sequential motor assembly

This area is open to"How-To" section only for tutorials on fixes, etc. (no profanities/etc.). NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: redstangbob

gbird66

Rehab/repair of sequential motor assembly

Post by gbird66 »

I know redstangbob did a very in-depth write up about repairing the various sequential motor, relays, and such back in October of 2011. What I am presenting here is how I disassembled the sequential motor down to its component parts, including the reduction gear box.

First, let me start off by saying that for most of the 1990's I was a 35mm SLR repair technician as well as a Sony 8mm camcorder technician. Most SLR's built from the mid 80's up through the 90's had miniature DC motors that would fail for various reasons. I became very good at rehabbing motors as a result and want to share some things that might help someone with a bad sequential motor assembly repair theirs rather than replacing with another used one or going electronic, if only for originality sake.

To start off, many DC brushed motors will wear out the carbon brushes over time with use and their continuous contact with the commutator. If the carbon builds up on the commutator, it can cause the resistance to increase to the point that the motor will either slow down, stall after a bit, or quit altogether.

I am fortunate enough to have an NOS sequential motor to use to take resistance measurements from as a baseline. Shown here is the NOS motor on the left and the used one that I tore down on the right: