RE: 2003 Coil on Plugs Scoop Article

This area is open to"How-To" section only for tutorials on fixes, etc. (no profanities/etc.). NO FOR SALE POSTINGS

Moderator: redstangbob

ABQTBird

RE: 2003 Coil on Plugs Scoop Article

Post by ABQTBird »

For those of you that do not get the VTCI Scoop, there was an article in the March/April edition by Tast et. al. regarding the failure of the coil on plugs (COP) that is common to the 2002 to 2005 series of Thunderbird. I could not believe how timely it was, as I had been fighting a misfiring engine for several months, and being a stubborn do-it-yourselfer, I was determined to figure this problem out myself before taking it to a mechanic and forking out big bucks for this repair even though I know my 2003 is hideously complex. My car only has 37,000 miles, however, it is past the 10-year replacement warranty and I did not bother to check with Ford to see if they would cover the replacement.

My engine was clearly misfiring, but it would not record a code and trip the MIL (check engine light). That made tracking this problem down difficult. At first I thought is was a failing throttle position sensor (TPS) based on what I saw with my scanner, a simple but effective Autel AL519. What I saw on the TPS was a spike in % open every time a misfire occurred as pictured below. So I replaced the TPS. That did nothing. This spike was a consequence and not a cause of the misfire. As you can see, the misfire would occur every few seconds. It had gotten to the point where the car was undriveable. Another thing I observed what that the misfire only occurred at full operating temperature.

Monitoring the RPMs, the misfire is easily seen.